I NEED CANDY-Swedish Fish? Vegan Approved!

26 Jul


Last night after dinner, I got a major sugar craving- SWEDISH FISH! So, while I made the carnivore his spaghetti and meat sauce, he went to the store and picked me up some CANDY! I was like an excited little kid when he got back with the glorious bag of Swedish Fish! and the bag of gummy worms. and the bag of sour gummy worms. But THEN I thought, oh shoot- are these vegan? Certainly, they must be! It’s CANDY- there can’t be any animal products! Its not chocolate! So, I flipped the bag over and read the ingredients:

sugar (vegan), invert sugar (sugar’s vegan), corn syrup (corn is vegan), modified corn starch (vegan corn again), citric acid (citrus stuff is definitely veg), white mineral oil (minerals-totes veg), red dye 40 and carnauba wax (uhh yea that sounds vegan, too!). Swedish fish are totally VEGAN!

AND THEN I found this gem… a LIST of ALL kinds of vegan candies and snacks! And its from PETA so you KNOW it must be true!

Airheads taffy

Brach’s Cinnamon Hard Candy

Brach’s Hi-C Fruit Slices

Brach’s Hi-C Orange Slices

Brach’s Root Beer Barrels

Brach’s Star Brites

Chocolove Dark Chocolate bar

Chocolove Cherries and Almonds

Dark Chocolate Bar Chocolove

Crystallized Ginger Dark Chocolate Bar

Chocolove Orange Peel Dark Chocolate Bar

Chocolove Raspberry Dark Chocolate bar


Cry Babies – cry babies!




Hubba Bubba bubblegum

Jolly Ranchers (lollipops and hard candy)



Laffy Taffy (some varieties)


Mambas – yes!

Mary Janes (regular and peanut butter kisses)

Mike and Ike

Panda Licorice

Runts – thank G

Smarties (U.S. Brand)

Sour Patch Kids – yay!!

Super Bubble

Swedish Fish – 🙂

Sweet Tarts

Twizzlers – cha ching!


Click here for the full list of all kinds of vegan goodies! Hallelujah I can be vegan and eat CANDY!!!!!! This candy…organic? Not so much. But who cares! You can’t be vegan, gluten-free and organic ALL the time!


2 Responses to “I NEED CANDY-Swedish Fish? Vegan Approved!”

  1. Krissy June 11, 2015 at 3:31 pm #

    Red dye 40 is not vegan. A few things on petas list are not vegan. Read that entire accidentally vegan page. They admit most of the stuff is only 99 percent vegan.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: